YouTube

It’s only a few years’ time since I started subscribing to YouTube channels in order to follow their uploads. But as I watched and watched I noticed some of them know each other and have contact with each other! A majority of them go to major YouTube events such as VidCon. I do wish I’ll be able to attend VidCon in the future!

Here is a list of some YouTubers that I either know or subscribed to (and know).

Dane Boedigheimer (show: realannoyingorange, primary: daneboe, secondary: Gagfilms, gaming: superboebros)

One of the first channels I subscribed to. The Annoying Orange might be the firsh show to ever spawn a television series! Isn’t that awesome? I don’t think I need to tell what The Annoying Orange is, Wikipedia has a whole page on it. Sadly, I’m now unsubscribed to it because its jokes ceased to be funny.

Luke Boedigheimer (primary: lukeboedi, gaming: SuperBoeBros)

Dane’s brother. I watched some of Dane’s and Boe’s gaming playthroughs. They’re really fun.

Blendtec

Put anything on a blender and it degrades into non-breathable smoke. Not everything’s funny though. And it’s a bad case of the TV trope running gag.

Felix (PewDiePie)

I became part of the Bro Army a few years back. I mostly view his game playthroughs and get a laugh whenever he fails at something. It’s really fun to watch him get frustrated.

Jack Douglass (primary: jacksfilms)

I don’t think I need to say this by now, but I’m now part of the BICHes. This video really touched me though. In his early life he’s every bit like me; loving science and math and all that shit. But he diverged later on to become a YouTuber. Fun stuff for thought.

Tobuscus

I’m not really subscribed to him, but I think he’s a really fun YouTuber.

Anthony Padilla and Ian Hecox (primary: Smosh, secondary: IanH, AnthonyPadilla)

Okay. Smosh. Some of their videos are extremely funny but some are just downright corny. It’s just sad that I won’t be able to view (at least legally) the video that made them famous. Their anime references are what make me laugh the most.

Simon Pierro (iOSmagic)

A really awesome iPad magician. I think he’s French… or something?

Derek Muller (primary: 1veritasium, secondary: 2veritasium)

Okay. Veritasium. An awesome science channel that changes the way you think about things. Has really good videos on physics. His main format is asking people a physics question that they think they will get right, only to find out that something will happen otherwise!

Henry Reich (minutephysics, minuteearth, reichhen, Spanish: minutodefisica)

Can I just put the word ‘awesome’ on every description? Awesome physics channel on whiteboard. MinuteEarth spawned just last year, I think? It’s more about everyday phenomena that doesn’t fit in the physics umbrella.

CGP Grey (CGPGrey)

Awesome explanations of things using stick figures and (what I like on this channel) memes.

ViHart

An odd mathematician. Will change your views about math. I think she now works at Khan Acad.? I don’t know.

Michael Stevens (VSauce)

A question that makes you want to click on the video. Ends up being really inspiring. It’s great.

Hank Green (primary: vlogbrothers; CrashCourse, SciShow)

Really awesome person with a voice that’s really alive and entertaining. This might be odd but between the vlogbrothers, I knew about Hank first by viewing CrashCourse videos. I didn’t even know who John Green is! Anyway, really awesome videos that you can just play up if you’re having an exam tomorrow. And awesome graphics by Thought Café (thoughtbubbler) that I can’t get enough of! I really loved the chemistry series. I wish they’d do physics soon. Oops, I scrolled up because I forgot to describe SciShow. Awesome news channel too.

John Green (primary: vlogbrothers; CrashCourse, MentalFloss)

I like viewing some of his vlogs. I also see him in his salon. What? He’s an author of a bestseller? Really? He’s famous? Movie coming out this June? I haven’t read a bit of TFIOS though. But I watched its trailer and I almost shed a tear. ALMOST.

Brady Haran (……)

A hardcore YouTuber. He maintains a lot of channels! Should I enumerate the ones I’m most interested in? Yes? Beware: his format is an interview format, I found myself sleeping on some of his videos. 😦

Numberphile

Awesome number theory and general math channel. Even if you’re not a math lover, you’ll learn to be one just by viewing this channel. Seriously. And being a math lover, I so love this channel.

Sixty Symbols

Physics channel. It’s really awesome having professors explain physics concepts to laymen (like us—like me? :O ).

Periodic Videos (periodicvideos)

You may have memorized the whole periodic table but have you actually seen these elements? This is the channel where I first saw plutonium. They also do videos on select weird chemical reactions, and it only gets more awesome when you give them a high-speed video camera.

Professor Poliakoff (interviewee: periodicvideos)

It’s really fun seeing the professor do some experiments on the channel. You gotta love the professor!

Computerphile

Not filmed by Brady but still good. Especially their videos on 3D graphics gave me some additional insight on how it works. I’ve only seen it in code when I was working with XNA!

Dr. James Grime (primary: singingbanana, interviewee: Numberphile)

Really has a nice voice, and it only gets more awesome when mixed with his preachings of math.

Rob, Kris, Dave and Matt (ExplosmEntertainment)

Four Flash animators who got together and became famous for their comic Cyanide & Happiness, which, as the title suggests, starts light and happy and ends up being brutally… brutal. Or weird. After negotiating with TV networks, they finally decided to just make their TV series free, backed by a Kickstarter. Their series is ongoing, check it out!

Nerdist

Sadly, I only watch them for the Skyrim. I don’t know much about them. Sorry.

ImprovEverywhere

If you ever rode a train where everybody’s only in their underwear, you might be one of their victims. At the back of my right ear I think their 2014 ride vid even made our local news! Which is really insane!

TheFineBros

I only watch for the React videos. Hehehe. Really funny and if you want to gain some insight about a topic without being weird to your housemates, go here.

Dr. Lindsey Doe (sexplanations)

Penises and vaginas. Connected with the vlogbrothers.

Microsoft

I don’t know why I’m subscribed here. But I have to subscribe to one tech channel or two.

Brian Brushwood (show: scamschool, primary: shwooddotcom)

Does a really awesome show with various magic tricks and then explains them. Then he asks his guests to perform the trick. It’s fun watching the guests perform the trick! Fun fact: He has connections with Dr. James Grime!

Mitchell Moffit and Gregory Brown (AsapSCIENCE)

Does whiteboard explanations like Henry, but on a broader umbrella covering science in general. I don’t know but I picked up somewhere allegedly saying they’re gay, but to be honest I don’t really care. Stay awesome, guys.

Laura Shigihara (supershigi)

If you don’t know who the composer of the original Plants vs. Zombies game is, you are really in big trouble with me. Hell, I even listened to the Japanese version she did with her dad before!

Destin (primary: SmarterEveryDay, secondary: FunnerEveryDay)

A simple person who seeks for the truth. His videos exploring nature range from rotational momentum to butterflies to sharks. (I’m sorry, I’m so bad at this.) Anyway, his videos are awesome.

Justine Ezarik (ijustine)

I first knew about her as someone who guests in The Annoying Orange. Apparently, she’s so popular she has her own Wikipedia page. I don’t really know much about her besides that, I’ve only seen her there and as a guest in TheFineBros.

Leave a Reply

