Trailing whitespace, Jade and Atom

Just a little aside here as I discovered that trailing whitespace is not automatically stripped from Jade files.

But why?

So apparently, more recent versions of Jade now has significant trailing whitespace. As one of the programmers who believe that whitespace is just there to brighten our days, it came to me as a shock and some disbelief.

They put it there so that people can do space things with their inline stuff. As for me, I’m perfectly okay with

= " "

if that’s the syntax that best suits my needs.

Of course most code languages we know are perfectly fine with stripping trailing whitespace, since they’re mostly insignificant to the language, save for the esoteric Whitespace programming language. It’s the first time I’ve seen anything like this. I’m shocked, yeah, but I’m not against it in any way. Jade is a beautiful language, and I hope it stays that way.

I also discovered that Jade’s filters is powered by jstransformer. I didn’t know what that was at first, but when I took a peek at the number of transformers enabled by jstransformer, I was in awe.

Yep. Nice segue. Anyway, bye.

Leave a Reply

